Grants & Prizes

Business History Conference Lifetime Achievement Award

The BHC's Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to a person who, in the judgment of the Grants and Prizes Committee, ratified by vote of the Board of Trustees, contributed in major ways to the work of the Business History Conference and to scholarship in business history. Nominations are solicited from the membership for this award every two to three years as appropriate.

CEBC Halloran Prize in the History of Corporate Responsibility

The Halloran Prize was offered between 2010 and 2015 for a paper presented at the BHC annual meeting that made a significant contribution to the history of corporate responsibility. Corporate responsibility is understood to embrace the many ways in which the firm relates to the political realm and the wider society. This prize was sponsored between 2010 and 2015 by the Center for Ethical Business Cultures (CEBC) at University of St. Thomas Opus College of Business in honor of Harry Halloran Jr.

Harry Halloran Jr.

Chandler Travel Grants

The Alfred D. Chandler, Jr. Travel Grants honor the dean of American business history and are used to defray costs to attend the BHC annual meeting by graduate students who are delivering papers. These grants are administered by the Secretary-Treasurer, in consultation with the Grants and Prizes Committee, to all graduate students who are giving papers, roughly in accordance with need and whether the student has additional funding to cover expenses. Preference is given to first-time paper givers.

Alfred D Chandler Jr

Hagley Prize in Business History

This prize is for the best book in business history (broadly defined) and consists of a medallion and $2,500, which are presented at the annual meeting of the BHC.

Hagley Prize

Harold F. Williamson Prize

Awarded every two to three years to a mid-career scholar who has made significant contributions to the field of business history, this prize memorializes the contributions to business history of the late Harold F. Williamson.

Harold Williamson

Herman E. Krooss Prize for Best Dissertation in Business History

Any dissertation in business history completed in the three calendar years immediately prior to the annual meeting can be nominated or considered, but may be submitted only once for the committee's consideration.

Herman Krooss

K. Austin Kerr Prize

 The K. Austin Kerr Prize is awarded for the best first paper delivered at the annual meeting of the Business History Conference by a new scholar (doctoral student or those within three years of receiving their Ph.D.). It honors K. Austin Kerr, professor of history at the Ohio State University since 1965 and president of the Business History Conference during 1992-1993.

K Austin Kerr

Martha Moore Trescott Prize

The Martha Moore Trescott Prize, introduced in 2019, is generously funded by a bequest from the estate of the late Martha Moore Trescott. The prize is awarded to the best paper at the intersection of business history and the history of the technology presented at the annual meeting of the Business History Conference. The award honors pioneering scholars Paul Uselding, Harold F. Williamson, Richard C. Overton, Alfred D. Chandler, and Albro Martin.

Martha Moore Trescott

Mira Wilkins Prize

This prize, established in 2009 in recognition of the path-breaking scholarship of Mira Wilkins, is awarded to the author of the best article published annually in Enterprise & Society pertaining to international and comparative business history.

Mira Wilkins

Philip Scranton Best Article Prize

This prize recognizes the author or authors of an article published in Enterprise & Society judged to be the best of those that have appeared in the volume previous to the year of the BHC annual meeting. It is named in recognition of Philip Scranton's deep contributions to Enterprise & Society and is generously funded by Cambridge University Press. 

Phil Scranton

Postdoctoral Travel to Meeting Grants

Ralph Gomory Prize

This prize, made possible by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, recognizes historical work on the effects of business enterprises on the economic conditions of the countries in which they operate. A prize of $5,000 is awarded annually for a book published in the two years prior to the year of the award. Book nominations are accepted from publishers.

Ralph Gomory